The Nest

image1

I chose The Nest by Cynthia D-Aprix Sweeney 100% because of the cover. I know that goes against everything you’ve ever learned about book-picking, but it’s just so pretty! (Also, I added this book to my January pick from Book of the Month so it was only $9.99!)

This story follows the Plumb family on their journey to fulfillment, essentially. The four grown-up Plumb siblings are promised an inheritance, “The Nest,” and due to a lot of unfortunate circumstances, don’t receive it. They all have to come to terms with their choices that have landed them in bad financial spots while counting on one another. In the end, (most) everything works out and they realize they can in fact be a family without “The Nest.”

I really enjoyed this book. I loved the way it was written; the narrator changes constantly so you get different viewpoints for most interactions. It reminded me of The Casual Vacancy or the movie Valentine’s Day in that there are a lot of characters who overlap and they eventually come together. Because of that, you have to pay attention to names or you might not catch some connections. I rated The Nest 4 stars on Goodreads. (*Sidenote: there is language and adult themes in this book, so if you are uncomfortable with that, it’s not for you!)

Book 2/52 down!

What should I read next?

kate.

Leave a Reply

